Table of Contents

The booking feature

Kate Santo Updated by Kate Santo

What are bookings?

Bookings are a feature of some Padoq apps. They allow users to reserve shared spaces, rooms or even activities. Depending on how you chose to set up your app, you might not see an option to book. If you did, however, this guide is for you.

Learn everything about bookings and how to manage them.

How to view bookings

  1. On the web app, head to Manage > Super Admin
  2. Pick the group you'd like to view bookings for
  3. Open the Bookings tab
  4. All of the bookings for that group will be on that screen. You can filter by date, status (open or cancelled) and you can search for keywords if you're looking for something specific

How to create bookings

Typically, the members of your group will create their own bookings on the Android or iOS apps. However, you might need to create a booking for a member. If that's the case, here's how to do it:

  1. On the web app, head to Manage > Super Admin
  2. Pick the group you'd like to view bookings for
  3. Open the Bookings tab
  4. On the top right, click Create
  5. You'll then be able to enter details for a new booking: who is the booking for, the start and end dates, the room or space being booked
  6. Click Save when you're done
  7. That booking will then appear in your list of bookings

How to delete bookings

  1. On the web app, head to Manage > Super Admin
  2. Pick the group you'd like to view bookings for
  3. Open the Bookings tab
  4. Click Cancel booking on the right-hand side of the booking you're after
  5. Click Yes to confirm you want to cancel that booking

How to create a bookable room or activity

Currently, creating a bookable item is a little tricky. Bookable items are members in your group -this might be a useful concept to keep in mind as you read on:

  1. On the web app, head to Manage > Super Admin
  2. Pick the group you'd like to create a bookable item for
  3. Open the Members tab
  4. Click Invite member
  5. Enter an email address you have access to but that doesn't belong to an existing member of your group. Then click Send
    This email address is only used to create the room, but access is not needed after that. You can use tools like mailinator.com to generate a disposable email address. Or use a secondary email address you might have.
  6. Look out for an invitation to join your group in that email address you entered
  7. As you join your group from that other email address, add an image and a name that are relevant for the bookable item you are creating. For example: If you are creating a bookable meeting room, call your user 'Meeting Room 1'
  8. If your group is set up in a way that you need to approve requests to join, you'll need to do the below. Otherwise, go straight to step 9
    1. Go back to your actual user, where you are an admin, and open your group
    2. Head to Settings > Member list and open the Requests tab
    3. You should see a request to join from the bookable item you have just created (Meeting Room 1 in our example). Accept the request
  9. Head back to Manage > Super Admin > Members tab and find that new bookable item
  10. Click on it and its profile will pop up. Change its role to Calendar member
  11. Click Submit and you now have an item ready for your members to book!

How to delete a bookable room or activity

You might have a room, activity or any bookable item that no longer exists or can't be booked anymore. If that's the case, you can delete it:

  1. On the web app, head to Manage > Super Admin
  2. Pick the group you'd like to view bookings for
  3. Open the Members tab
  4. Select the room or bookable item you want to delete
  5. Its profile will pop up. Change its status to Disabled
  6. Click Submit
    Disabling a room or any other bookable item means deleting it. So when you click Submit, the room will disappear and you won't have an option to bring it back.

    When you go to the Bookings tab in the Super Admin page, you will still see the booking history for the room or item you've deleted. But you'll notice that its name doesn't appear:

Your users might ask...

How can I make a booking?

  1. On your mobile app, tap the Bookings button at the top of a group
    Note that the button might have a different name and be in a different place depending on how you set up your app.
  2. Select the space or activity you want to book
  3. Select the date and time you'd like to book for
  4. Select your name or the name of the person you are booking for, if it's not you
  5. Tap Save and your slot is booked

Where can I see my bookings?

You can see your bookings in the group's calendar or your own personal calendar.

  • The group's calendar is at the top of the group, near the group's name
  • Find your personal calendar by tapping Me and then the calendar icon near your name at the top

Can I update a booking?

Currently, it's not possible to update or edit bookings. What you can do with a couple of taps is cancel an existing booking and make a new one. Find out how to cancel a booking below.

Can I cancel a booking?

You can cancel a booking in 2 ways: through the booking tool or through the calendar.

Cancelling through the booking tool

  1. Open the group you made the booking in
  2. Tap Bookings at the top
  3. Select the room or activity you booked
  4. Find the time you had booked it for
  5. Tap Cancel next to your booking

Cancelling through the calendar

  1. Open your calendar or your group's calendar
  2. Tap on the booking you want to cancel
  3. Tap Close Event
    In the app, bookings are treated like events. So even though you're cancelling a booking, you'll see the word 'event' here.
  4. You will see a message asking if you are sure you want to close the event. Confirm by tapping Close
  5. The booking is now cancelled

How did we do?

Personal Calendar

Contact